Parents

THE ANSWERS TO
ALL OF THE QUESTIONS
YOU’VE BEEN ASKING

Parents, this page is made for you.

Antoine Cohet (Electronic Arts) sponsor of G.BS.

YOUR SON OR DAUGHTER WANTS TO APPLY TO GAMING BUSINESS SCHOOL. HERE YOU WILL FIND SOME ANSWERS TO THE QUESTIONS YOU MAY HAVE. WE INVITE YOU TO CONTACT US IF YOU HAVE A QUESTION THAT IS NOT ANSWERED ON OUR SITE.

What prerequisites are necessary to enrol at G.BS?

We will study the academic record of your child and any other elements that show their motivation and interest in the gaming sector. Then, if they are accepted, it will become our responsibility to and expectantly and confidently educate them to develop their passion and employability.
See the admissions requirements for G.B.S →

Which courses does G.BS offer?

Gaming Business School is a management school offering both bachelor’s and master’s degrees. It trains students for jobs in the video game industry, and more generally in interactive technological media.

The goal is to give your child the bases of business, (which can also apply to other sectors) and to apply them to the video game industry. They will obtain the perfect employment profile for the video gaming sector but will also be able to work in other sectors by pushing their business skills and their application in an innovative industry.

In which year can you join G.BS?

– In 1st year (with a general or technological BAC (specialisations in S, L, ES, STI2D, STD2A, STMG, etc.) Also possible at bac+1 with the goal of reorientation.

– In 2nd year (Dependant on the validation of the first year of a higher education degree)

In 3rd year (after DUT, BTS, or the validation of the second year of a higher education degree)

– In 4th year after a bachelor’s degree or the validation of the third year if a higher education degree.

We invite you to read the admissions procedure →.

At what age can you join G.BS?

It is possible to enrol in G.BS after you have obtained a high school diploma (Bac)

Which job prospects does the video game sector offer?

The employment possibilities are varied also depend on your child’s profile. The gaming and technological arts sectors are rapidly growing, in France as well as abroad. The offer excellent future prospects for young passionate graduates, especially those who are specialised and ready for the workplace.

For example, the video game industry represented 108.4 billon dollars of turnover in 2017 for 16% growth (source Super Data report 2017). It is the world’s biggest entertainment industry. In France, according to the SNJV (National Syndicate of Video Games) the video game sector should create between 1200 and 1500 new jobs (see the article in Les Echos – in French). We invite you to consult the barometer of the video game sector created by the SNJV.

We can group these careers into 3 main subjects, responding to the aspirations of each student. We will guide your child in each step of the development of their career pathway in whichever of the three categories they choose: project and innovation management careers, marketing and digital marketing careers, communication and editorial careers, event creation careers, PR and influencer careers, commerce and e-commerce development careers, supply chain careers, esports careers and not forgetting entrepreneurial careers. Find out more with our list of careers available after our bachelor’s degree, and our list of careers available after our master’s degree.

Your child will be able to work at the heart of various international scale businesses,studios of video games, of serious games, of mobile games, of interactive productions; businesses in the Esports sector; digital communication agencies, multi-media creation studios; oversight departments, innovation or new media of TV channels or software developers and interactive marketing consultancies.

Will my child only be able to work in the video game industry?

Being trained in our school which focuses on highly technical video game careers, with a complete overview of business, also allows our students to apply for jobs in other employment sectors.

The closest sector in terms of skill set is the digital sector. The digital sector is present in all businesses, no matter their size. It represents 110 billion euros of GDP in France, more than agriculture and financial services (source: MKinsey) and 1,5 million jobs (source). This is why we have developed close ties with recruitment agencies for the digital sector such as digiRocks.

Though today we are unable to guess at the evolution of all jobs, our pedagogy is targeted at developing student’s autonomy, learning ability and “softskills” which are interpersonal relationship skills desired by all employers.

Your child will, therefore, thanks to G.BS, develop skills that will open up a maximum amount of opportunities and differentiation strengths within the sector in which he or she will implement these skills.

What is the 1st year immersion programme?

During October, our students will be immersed in the professional video game, serious games and numerical arts universe.

The programme :

  • Testimonials
  • Experience feedbacks
  • career conferences – to discover the different careers available to them.

We will present our method of teaching and coaching:

  • Career pathways development and internships
  • Acquisition of skills, know-how and learning to learn.

See the compte rendu of the immersion programme in 2018.

This will also be an opportunity to explain and to learn about group work (project-based learning). See the interview about project-based learning with our headmistress Valérie Dmitrovic.

How are projects organised? (workshops or sprint*) ?

There are multiple types of projects, that can take place over days, weeks and months. Each project is undertaken collectively by a group of students who are supported and guided by experts.

We use a problem and project-based approach developed by l’UCL (Catholic University of Louvain). This approach allows for the development of skills.

The large majority of our projects are undertaken in partnership with our partner firms, see some examples of projects here →.

Workshop ou sprint: these are ateliers uniting a group of students for a determined amount of time in order to lead a reflection on a given topic or to create a project whilst being coached by one of many experts, industry professional speakers, or professors, dependant on the nature of the project.

Who are the teachers that work at the school?

Our objective is to develop our students’ employability. Our teachers are in majority high-level industry professionals, who are currently working in the sector, lauded by their peers. They constantly update their learning content to follow the evolution of the market. they are equally involved throughout the curriculum via juries, workshops or “sprint” classes, masterclasses, conferences, or job meets.

Some of our subjects require professors who have a vast conceptual knowledge and have links with applied research (for example in sociology, economy, etc.)

Discover our industry professional teachers →.

In all cases, we train our teachers in active pedagogy and project-based learning so that they can:

  • Fully exploit their role as an encouraging and motivating expert and coach
  • Create practical projects in different professional contexts so that our students can acquire knowledge and skills
Are certain lessons given in English?

Yes, because the video game industry and innovative technology industries demand the mastery of the English language, as well as knowledge of an international working environment.

This is why one of our priorities is for your child to be able to speak English with ease (we will enable them to progress from their initial level). Our English teachers are all native speakers. A language isn’t learnt, as such, but practised: this is why speaking is the pillar of our language classes. 2/3 of class time in English is dedicated to listening and speaking, while the rest is dedicated to grammatical theory.

We work in the same way for the other languages we offer and prioritise conversation with native speakers.

Who are G.BS's partner enterprises?

We created G.BS for businesses and with businesses. Before creating G.BS we met with more than 100 businesses from the video game sector in order to understand their recruitment needs, which we applied to our ethos even before the school opened.

This is why today we have tight-knotted relationships with your child’s future employers

In this way, throughout their time at G.BS, your child with be in contact with more than 300 professionals :

  • 10 businesses are major partners in Gaming Campus
  • Each year more than 100 businesses visit Gaming Campus
  • At the end of February, we organise a special employability week
  • The entirety of our teachers are industry professionals
  • We centralise internship and professionalisation contract offers which keep in line with your child profile
  • We receive priority internship and sandwich course offers from our partner firms.

More information is available on our page dedicated to employability →.

How much is a year of G.BS?

The tuition fees for the bachelor’s degree are 8 050€ per year and for the master’s degree are 8 750€ per year.

How can the tuition fees be financed?

If you need, our banking partner Crédit Mutuel offers advantageous loan conditions to help you finance your child’s tuition fees:

  • A negotiated rate
  • repayment after studies
  • privileged support

Le branch of Crédit Mutuel “Lyon Gerland” is situated just next to gaming campus and is our closest contact point, allowing fluidity in your loan agreement and any other daily banking needs.

We also offer a payment system, of 3 instalments per year.

Your child can also finance their studies by:

  • Their paid internships
  • The professionalising work contracts
  • Junior enterprise

Finally, scholarship students can apply for a scholarship through our partners (based on a dossier).

What are the term dates?

The school year at G.BS starts at the beginning of October. The precise dates and time will be updated in June 2019.

Demandez un entretien avec Valérie Dmitrovic

Directrice G.B.S

THE GAMING CAMPUS PROJECT

In the heart of Lyon, Gaming Campus was conceived to create the optimal learning conditions adapted to the video game sector. It’s 1200m2 are dedicated to passion, professionalism and performance, with 10 work and living spaces.

THE PROJECT

The video game market is the number 1 sector of entertainment in the world, before music, cinema and sport. Created by education and video game industry professionals, Gaming Campus is a unique place which reveals talents and develops skills.

*Source : SuperData report 2017

INAUGURATION – 27/09/18

In the presence of Mr Etienne Blanc (Vice-President of the Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes Region), Ms Karine Dognin-Sauze (Vice-Presidente of Grand Lyon) and Mr Samy Keffi-Jérôme (Regional Councillor of technology in charge of e-administration in the Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes region).

GAMING CAMPUS ON BFM TV

What does Gaming Business School offer? How to apply? Find out with: Thierry Debarnot, cofounder of Gaming Campus. – Good Morning Business, from Monday the 19th of March 2018, presented by Stéphane Soumier, on BFM Business.

NOS PARTENAIRES OFFICIELS

Les 10 partenaires majeurs du Gaming Campus et de G.BS.

Parents

LES RÉPONSES À
TOUTES LES QUESTIONS
QUE VOUS VOUS POSEZ

Parents cet espace est fait pour vous.

Antoine Cohet (Electronic Arts) parrain de G.BS.

VOTRE FILLE/FILS SOUHAITE S’INSCRIRE À LA GAMING BUSINESS SCHOOL. VOUS TROUVEREZ ICI UN CERTAIN NOMBRE DE RÉPONSES À VOS QUESTIONS. NOUS VOUS INVITONS À PRENDRE CONTACT AVEC NOUS POUR TOUTES QUESTIONS COMPLÉMENTAIRES.

Quels sont les prérequis nécessaires pour intégrer la G.BS ?

Nous étudions le parcours scolaire de votre enfant et les autres éléments démontrant sa motivation et son fort intérêt pour le secteur. Ensuite, c’est à nous que revient la responsabilité, s’il est admis, de le former avec exigence et confiance pour développer sa motivation et son employabilité.
Voir les conditions d’admissions à la G.B.S →

Quelle formation propose la G.BS ?

La Gaming Business School est une école de management post-bac en 3 ou 5 ans (Bachelor ou Mastère) qui forme aux métiers du jeu vidéo et de l’esport et plus généralement aux médias interactifs numériques.

L’enjeu est donner à votre enfant les bases du business (qu’il pourra appliquer à d’autres secteurs) et de les mettre en application dans le secteur du jeu vidéo. Ainsi, il sera le profil parfait pour l’ensemble des entreprises du secteur des jeux vidéo et il pourra également exercer dans d’autres secteurs d’activité en mettant en avant ces compétences business et leur application dans un secteur innovant.

En quelle année peut-on intégrer la G.BS ?

– En 1ère année (avec un BAC général ou technologique (séries S, L, ES, STI2D, STD2A, STMG, etc.) mais aussi avec un BAC+1 pour une réorientation.

– En 2ème année (sous réserve d’une validation d’une 1ère année d’études supérieures)

– En 3ème année (après un DUT, BTS, une 2ème année validée dans l’enseignement supérieur)

– En 4ème année après un bachelor ou une 3ème année validée dans un établissement d’enseignement supérieur.

Nous vous invitons à lire la procédure d’admission →.

A partir de quel âge peut-on intégrer la G.BS ?

La G.BS est accessible au plus tôt après l’obtention du bac.

Quels sont les débouchés du secteur du jeu vidéo ?

Les débouchés métiers sont variés et dépendent aussi du profil de votre enfant. Les secteurs du gaming et des arts numériques sont en très forte croissance, aussi bien en France qu’à l’international. Ils offrent de belles perspectives d’avenir pour les jeunes diplômés passionnés, spécialisés et très opérationnels.

A titre d’exemple le secteur du jeu vidéo représente 108.4 milliards de $ de chiffre d’affaires en 2017 pour 16% de croissance (source Super Data report 2017). C’est le 1er secteur de divertissement. En France, d’après le SNJV (Syndicat National du Jeu Vidéo) le secteur du jeu vidéo devrait créer en 2019 entre 1200 et 1500 nouveaux emplois directs (voir l’article des Echos). Nous vous invitons à consulter le baromètre du secteur du jeu vidéo réalisé par le SNJV.

Nous pouvons regrouper les métiers en grandes familles, répondant aux aspirations de chacun. Nous guidons votre enfant dans la construction de son projet professionnel à chaque étape : les métiers du management, de la gestion de projet et de l’innovation, du marketing et du marketing digital, de la communication et de l’éditorial, de l’événementiel, des relations publics et de l’influence, du développement commercial et du e-commerce, de la supply chain, les métiers de l’esport, sans oublier la création d’entreprise. En savoir plus avec notre liste des métiers accessibles après le bachelor,  et la liste des métiers accessibles après le mastère.

Votre enfant peut travailler au sein d’entreprises variées et d’envergure internationale : studios de jeux vidéo, de serious games, de jeux mobiles, de production interactive ; entreprises du secteur de l’esport ; agences de communication digitale ; studios de création multimédia ; départements de veille, innovation ou nouveaux médias des grandes chaînes de télévision ou des grands éditeurs logiciels et cabinets de conseil en marketing interactif.

Mon enfant pourra uniquement travailler dans le secteur du jeu vidéo ?

Etre formé dans notre école aux métiers à haute technicité du jeu vidéo, avec une vision complète business, technique et créative, permet aussi de prétendre à des carrières dans d’autres secteurs d’activité.

Le secteur aux domaines de compétences les plus proches est celui du digital. Le digital est présent dans toutes les entreprises, de toutes tailles. Il représente 110 milliards d’euros du PIB de la France, soit plus que l’agriculture ou les services financiers (source : MKinsey) et 1,5 millions d’emplois y sont liés (source). C’est pourquoi nous avons noué des partenariats forts avec des cabinets de recrutement du secteur du digital tels que digiRocks.

Ne pouvant connaître aujourd’hui toute l’évolution des métiers, notre pédagogie vise à développer l’autonomie, la capacité d’apprendre à apprendre ainsi que les « softskills » ce sont les compétences relationnelles attendues par les entreprises.

Ainsi votre enfant aura grâce à G.BS des compétences pour lui ouvrir un maximum d’opportunités et des éléments forts de différenciation grâce au secteur dans lequel il aura mis en oeuvre ces compétences.

Qu’est-ce que l’immersion en 1ère année ?

Durant le mois d’octobre, nos étudiants vont plonger dans l’univers professionnel des jeux vidéos, des serious games et plus généralement des arts numériques.

Au programme :

  • témoignages
  • retours d’expérience
  • conférences « métier » pour découvrir les différents métiers qui s’offrent à eux.

Nous leur présenterons notre méthode d’accompagnement et de coaching :

  • construction de leur projet professionnel et stages
  • acquisition de compétences de savoir-être et savoir-apprendre

Voir le compte rendu de l’immersion 2018.

Ce sera aussi l’occasion d’expliquer et de s’initier au travail en équipe (pédagogie par projets). Voir l’interview autour de la pédagogie par projet de notre directrice générale Valérie Dmitrovic.

Comment s’organisent les projets (workshops ou sprint*) ?

Il existe différents types de projets qui peuvent s’étaler sur plusieurs jours, plusieurs semaines et/ou plusieurs mois. Chaque projet est réalisé collectivement par groupe d’étudiants qui sont suivis et accompagnés par des experts.

Nous utilisons l’APP, approche par problème et par projets développée en particulier par l’UCL (Université catholique de Louvain). Cette approche permet le développement des compétences.

La grande majorité des projets sont réalisés en partenariat avec nos entreprises partenaires, voir des exemples de projets →.

Workshop ou sprint : atelier réunissant un groupe d’étudiants pour une période déterminée afin de mener une réflexion sur un sujet donné ou réaliser un projet commun en étant coaché par un ou plusieurs experts, intervenants professionnels ou professeurs selon la nature du projet.

Qui sont les professeurs qui enseignent à l'école ?

Notre objectif est de développer l’employabilité de nos étudiants. Nos professeurs sont en majorité des professionnels de haut niveau, en activité, reconnus par leurs pairs. Ils actualisent sans cesse le contenu des apprentissages pour suivre l’évolution du marché. Ils sont également impliqués tout au long du cursus par leur présence aux jurys, l’animation de workshops ou sprint, de masterclasses, de conférences ou rencontres métiers.

Certaines matières nécessitent en revanche d’avoir des professeurs qui ont un niveau conceptuel élevé qui pour autant a toujours entretenu un lien fort avec la recherche appliqué (par exemple en sociologie, en économie etc.).

Découvrez nos intervenants professionnels →.

Dans tous les cas, nous les formons à la pédagogie active et par projets pour qu’ils puissent :

  • jouer à plein leur rôle d’expert et de coach encourageant et motivant
  • créer des mises en pratique dans différents contextes professionnels pour que nos étudiants acquièrent des savoirs et des compétences
Certains cours sont-ils dispensés en anglais ?

Oui, parce que l’industrie des jeux vidéos et plus largement les projets technologiques innovants exigent la maîtrise de la langue anglaise et la connaissance d’un environnement international.

C’est pourquoi une de nos priorités est que votre enfant parle couramment l’anglais (nous le ferons progresser en nous adaptant à son niveau de départ). Nos professeurs d’anglais sont tous de langue maternelle anglaise. Une langue ne s’apprend pas mais se pratique : c’est pour cela que l’oral est le pilier de notre enseignement. En effet, les 2/3 du temps sont dédiés à l’écoute et à la pratique orale, le restant consacré à la théorie grammaticale.

Nous travaillons de la même manière pour les autres langues étrangères et privilégions la conversation avec des natifs.

Quelles sont les entreprises partenaires de G.BS ?

Nous avons pensé G.BS pour les entreprises et avec les entreprises. Avant de créer G.BS nous avons rencontré près de 100 entreprises du secteur du jeu vidéo afin de comprendre leurs besoins de recrutement et les impliquer avant même l’ouverture de l’école.

C’est pourquoi aujourd’hui nous avons noué des relations fortes avec les futurs employeurs de votre enfant.

Ainsi tout au long de son cursus à G.BS votre enfant sera en contact avec près de 300 professionnels :

  • 10 entreprises son partenaires majeurs du Gaming Campus
  • chaque année 100 entreprises visitent le Gaming Campus
  • fin février nous organisons une semaine spéciale de l’employabilité
  • l’ensemble des intervenants sont des professionnels
  • nous centralisons les offres de stages et d’alternance en adéquation avec le profil de votre enfant
  • nous recevons en priorité les offres de stages et d’alternance de nos partenaires

Plus d’informations dans notre espace dédié à l’employabilité →.

Quel est le prix de la G.BS ?

Les frais de scolarité pour le bachelor sont de 8 050€ par an et pour le mastère de 8 750€ par an.

Comment financer les frais de scolarité ?

Si vous en avez le besoin notre partenaire bancaire le Crédit Mutuel propose des conditions avantageuses pour vous aider à financer les frais de scolarité de votre enfant :

  • taux négocié
  • remboursement après les études
  • accompagnement privilégié

La caisse Crédit Mutuel de Lyon Gerland (juste à côté du Gaming Campus) est notre point de contact de proximité pour plus de fluidité dans l’accord du prêt et les besoins du quotidien.

Nous proposons également un paiement en 3 fois.

Votre enfant pourra aussi financer une partie de sa formation via :

  • ses stages rémunérés
  • son alternance rémunérée
  • la junior entreprise

Enfin les étudiants boursiers peuvent prétendre à l’obtention d’une bourse d’étude de nos partenaires (sur dossier).

Quelles sont les dates de rentrée ?

La rentrée à G.BS se fait début octobre, les dates et horaires précis seront communiqués en juin 2019.

Demandez un entretien avec Valérie Dmitrovic

Directrice G.B.S
Vous

Veuillez renseigner ce champ.

Veuillez renseigner ce champ.

Veuillez renseigner ce champ.

Veuillez renseigner ce champ.

Votre enfant

Veuillez renseigner ce champ.

Veuillez renseigner ce champ.

Votre demande

Veuillez renseigner ce champ.

LE PROJET GAMING CAMPUS

En plein cœur de Lyon, Gaming Campus est pensé pour créer les conditions optimales d’apprentissage adaptées au secteur des jeux vidéo. C’est 1 200m2 dédiés à la passion,
le professionnalisme et la performance avec 10 espaces de travail et de vie.

LE PROJET

Le marché des jeux vidéo est le 1er secteur de divertissement au monde, devant la musique, le cinéma ou le sport. Imaginé par des professionnels des jeux vidéo et de l’éducation, Gaming Campus est un lieu unique pour révéler les talents et développer les compétences. *Source : SuperData report 2017

INAUGURATION LE 27/09/18

En présence d’Etienne Blanc (Vice-Président de la Région Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes), Mme Karine Dognin-Sauze (Vice-Présidente du Grand Lyon) et Mr Samy Keffi-Jérôme (Conseiller régional délégué au numérique en charge de l’e-administration chez Région Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes).

PASSAGE SUR BFM TV

Que propose Gaming Business School ? Comment s’inscrire dans cette école ? Avec: Thierry Debarnot, cofondateur de Gaming Campus. – Good Morning Business, du lundi 19 mars 2018, présenté par Stéphane Soumier, sur BFM Business.

NOS PARTENAIRES OFFICIELS

Les 10 partenaires majeurs du Gaming Campus et de G.BS.